Timeout to say…

I (the real me) just wanted to take a moment to say something thats been on my mind.

I’m glad I have a roof over my head and food in my fridge. I’m glad I can use the technology we have today to network with people all over the world. I’m glad I am a free person.  I’m glad for the people Ive come to know in Second Life whom I probably would have never met the Real world. I’m glad I can express my feelings about things here in this blog even if hardly anyone  ever reads it.

Monday I was driving to a conference in in Palm Springs , CA (about two hours from my house in Newport and I was listening to some music in my car that I downloaded from the web… all artists that I have discovered on Second life. Like Paisley Beebe, Sting Rhode, Heath Vercher…. the list goes on….I heard all SL musicians for the whole drive pretty much. I felt a certain joy and happiness from this.

While enjoying the music and the beautiful Southern California day I thought about what Freestar Tammas is doing this weekend coming up for Unmasked Shepperd and the Coalition to Prevent Deep-Vein Thrombosis in real life. I thought about what Heath Vercher is doing in Second life with his charity concert series to help a needy person in the real world with money donated from the residents of a virtual world. I thought about a friend Second Life storyteller Lehua Lamington who was a recipient of a charity that bought her a new electric scooter so she could get around better in RL because she is disabled.. and how she was almost in tears when she told me what an impact this made in her life.. (I heard her telling me this in voice chat). I thought about what my friend Zeke Yoshikawa is doing with his organization on Second life to help people who have been through the trauma of organ transplants ( he has had three!)

I thought about all these people and the time and effort they are putting into making the real world just a little bit better place to live.. the love that they have for their fellow humans. If we all just helped a tiny fraction of what they are doing we could make a difference!

I’m glad I have a roof over my head and food in my fridge.

I’m glad that I have the opportunity to help my fellow human being.

I hope I can help to make a difference……

3 responses to “Timeout to say…

Leave a Reply

