Weekend

Well it was a great weekend on SL. I went to a class at TUI and got to make a really fun chair.. then hung out bit .. cant remember where now.. I didn’t get to go to my usual stop on on Friday night at 10pm SLT (the Pocket) where Ohmy Kidd hangs his hat and plays some great music .. he went out of town in RL so couldn’t be there but I did get to have a Party with DJ CheriBomb Trip and a bunch of my friends at The Runway In Augustine Island.. What a fun time. Saturday brought live music I started out at Circe Brooms Ratepoint Cafe listening to Maxamillion Went to Chiefs Caste Venue and heard more Live music and went over to Freestar Bay listening to some of the great artists she has there then I ran into Circe and we got to go on a private tour of a sim that is music related but is not open yet so I’m not allowed to say anything more about it yet other than it is really fantastic. As some of you may already know I’m working with some Fortune 500 RL companies that have sims in SL to bring more attention to them buy having music events so Ive been doing alot of listening lately and I love it!

On Sunday I went over to my venue at Augustine Island and we had NuScore Kidd perform and then right after that we had a special treat by Freestar she played some songs for us. That brings me to “unDAY” ill copy and paste an exerpt here regarding this issue and Ill keep you posted on the Charity that Freestar Tammas has created to help Umasked and others in the same situation.

***Part I: The Facts About Thrombosis, DVTs, and Blood Clotting Disorders***

What is Thrombosis?

Thrombosis is a condition that occurs when blood flow within a vessel is blocked by a blood clot that has formed inside that vessel. Until recently there has been no group dedicated to thrombosis research. Research into thrombosis tends to be a supplementary area of work, with funding generally given as seed money for small projects.

What is a DVT?

DVT occurs when a blood clot forms in a deep vein, usually in the lower limbs. A complication of DVT, pulmonary embolism, can occur when a fragment of a blood clot breaks loose from the wall of the vein and migrates to the lungs, where it blocks a pulmonary artery or one of its branches.

What are Blood Clotting Disorders?

The term thrombophilia covers a range of conditions that result in an individual having ‘sticky blood’, and thus an increased risk of thrombosis. Thrombophilia may be either congenital, and inherited at birth; or acquired during life. There are several different forms of congenital and acquired thrombophilia.

Is Thrombosis a Serious Threat?

* Up to 2 million Americans are affected annually by DVT
* Of those who develop Pulmonary Embolism (PE), up to 300,000 will die each year
* More people die in the United States from PE than breast cancer and AIDS combined

Where Can I Go to Learn More?

A great resource of information is the website below:

https://www.preventdvt.org/

Where Can I Donate Independantly?

This fund raiser benefits LifeBlood, the Thrombosis Charity.
http://www.thrombosis-charity.org.uk/

***Part II: The Story of Unmasked Shepherd***

Just a brief detail of what happened to me, many years ago i started experiencing constant chronic pain in my lower back that shot through to my groin which several visits to Mayo Clinic and countless doctors ultimately led me undergoing a series of surgeries. The pain however did not go away until over a year after the surgeries were performed. The pain returned about 2 years ago and started getting worse.

October of 2006 I became horribly anemic and was experiencing so much pain in my body i could barely stand it. The doctors could find nothing at all wrong with me. Even a trip to the Emergency Room from the pain gave no results. Then near the end of October something finally broke inside my body and my right leg doubled in size from hip to toe overnight. Two days later I was in the hospital ER again having an ultrasound done on the leg. I have to tell you it was hands down the most painful experience in my whole life.

When they were done with the ultrasound they recorded an enormous clot in my femoral vein; the vein that runs from your right hip all the way to your right ankle. The entire vein was full of blood clots where apparently it had formed like an icicle in the vein from my lower back on the right to my right ankle. I spent the next 9 days in the hospital struggling with absolutely horrible pain. My leg had ultimately swelled to over 3 times its normal size. he valves in my whole right leg were so damaged by it that i have the wear compression stockings for the rest of my life and take large amounts of blood thinners to prevent that and other clots in my body from reaching my heart and killing me. It has been almost one year now since the ER visit and I am still in constant excruciating pain throughout my body from that as well as a series of other congenital and acquired diseases which combine to make my illness that much more complex, including atrial ventricular arhythmias and advanced osteoporosis.

I have been told by many that I am lucky to be alive at all. Before I ended up in the ER from this, I was eating an excellent diet and was at a perfect weight. I was physically active, as much as I could be especially in times of severe pain. It wasn’t until after they had eliminated tons of possible causes that they discerned I had gotten the clots due to Genetic issues. The horrible swelling and pain in me is ever present.

My personal hope for this benefit is to raise awareness of all the possible causes and effects of blood clot disorders. We want to be able to donate to research to improve prevention measures, medications and care. Thank you so much for reading this and for your interest in our cause born out of sympathy and concern for those suffering and dying at the hands of this silent killer.

Unmasked Shepherd

By for now.. Delinda

Leave a Reply

