My first Blog (hope I dont get addicted to this too)

Ok these are the first words traveling out of my mind down my nerve endings to my fingertips and finally to the keyboard which gets them to where you are…reading my first ever personal blog post. I’ve intentionally stayed away from blogs because despite the recent popularity of them I thought it was just a waste of time. Then I discovered Second Life, and more importantly.. Sailors Cove Sims šŸ˜‰

Let me explain.. first of all I use the word addicted in my title lightly.. yes to some it may seem I’m online way too much to have a (Real Life to be referred to as RL from this point on) however, it really just means Ive given up on some other things I used to do way too much of like shopping listening to friends gossip about each other on the phone …oh and of course….watching television (now theres a real interactive device.. wheres my remote?) Ive never been into the other online phenomena like Warcraft and other stuff I hear about just wasn’t interested in running around killing and conquering not that that wouldn’t be fun sometimes. Merriam Websters Medical Dictionary defines the word “Addiction” as follows: compulsive physiological need for and use of a habit-forming substance (as heroin, nicotine, or alcohol) characterized by tolerance and by well-defined physiological symptoms upon withdrawal; broadly : persistent compulsive use of a substance known by the user to be physically, psychologically, or socially harmful

Ok .. So Second Life (referred to from here on as SL ) is not an addiction for me. Its not a game either.. whats it is for me is a place where Ive met and made friends with and socially interacted with really great people from all over the world. Its a place that Ive rediscovered my love for Art and Live Music. Its a place where I can go buy a new dress.. go race in a sailing regatta see an art exhibit and go to two a live music event all within a couple hours and never once have to deal with Southern California traffic (although there are some odd and unusual things I do run into on SL from time to time that would never occur in the real world).. so maybe an escape or interactive diversion would be good words for how I see SL. Well I don’t want to blog you down with all this serious talk but I had to get it out of the way before going any further into blogging. I will probably mention more about how I feel in a later post… Now what does Sailors Cove have to do with this? http://sailorscove.wordpress.com/ and the blogs that are mentioned there…. thats what! I started reading them and found it a great way to share information, pics, and opinions related to RL and SL without having to say the same thing over and over to everyone..so if you made it this far.. here’s my first funny antidote..

I was in the new Gift Shop I’m setting up on Fishers Island and Bent Asp shows up near by so I shout (in Text Chat) “Hello Bent” I heard no response and assume he probably just didn’t hear me. A few minuets later he walks in the back door of my shop and says “hey.. oh that was you I heard.. I thought I was hearing things…then to make it even more funny…he says to me..I was looking for Joja (Jojamella Soon on SL) Bents Wife in RL. Now either they live in a really huge mansion in RL and Bent actually has to go on SL to find her.. or maybe bent was on the road and not home in RL at all. Anyways I found it pretty funny at the moment. Thats all for now.. Ill try and get a little better at this by posting pics.. and so on on my future posts.

Leave a Reply

